Opportunity fire and target priorities

Ask a question about rules
Répondre
RogerGreenwood
Chef de bataillon
Messages : 324
Enregistré le : ven. 29 nov. 2019 20:55

Opportunity fire and target priorities

Message par RogerGreenwood » mar. 17 mai 2022 16:50

If an enemy unit moves in the arc of artillery, but is not the priority target for the artillery, can the artillery still shoot at it?
We note that artillery may use support fire against a charging enemy, if it is the only target in that particular phase of play, even though it would have another target in a later phase.
So, does the same logic apply to the enemy phase, moving is a different phase.

Avatar du membre
zeitoun
Général de Division
Messages : 989
Enregistré le : sam. 19 janv. 2019 15:57

Re: Opportunity fire and target priorities

Message par zeitoun » mer. 18 mai 2022 07:20

HI roger,

for me opportunity fire follow the same rules as other fire ( except support fire )

So yes , you must follow the priority rules.

However, if you 've got an attach commander , or if the artillery is on hill, there is no issue..

Regards
Cordialement

Olivier M

RogerGreenwood
Chef de bataillon
Messages : 324
Enregistré le : ven. 29 nov. 2019 20:55

Re: Opportunity fire and target priorities

Message par RogerGreenwood » mer. 18 mai 2022 08:31

That was my initial thought, but if support fire is an exception...
It would be nice to have target priority clarified in the next version.

Adrian Steer
Sous-lieutenant
Messages : 138
Enregistré le : ven. 4 sept. 2020 20:17

Re: Opportunity fire and target priorities

Message par Adrian Steer » ven. 20 mai 2022 18:36

Do I understand this correctly, with opportunity fire all units that are presenting an opportunity which wouldn't be present in the firing units activation phase are considered. Then the target that most meets the target priority rules is the one shot at? For instance a group moving through the arc of an artillery battery to exit where they can't be shot at, the formed unit that comes closest is the one shot at.
Also we allow opportunity fire on troops changing formation such as an artillery piece moves up to within effective range then unlimbers we allow an opportunity shot in the Limbered state is this correct?

Répondre