Page 1 sur 3

Reaction to flank charge

Posté : mer. 17 mars 2021 19:39
par viperofmilan
First the situation. I hope this is clear as my ability to diagram the situation is limited.


AAAAAA
AAAAAA BB
GG BB

A = large Austrian unit in line formation facing down page and supporting an unlimbered artillery.
G = unlimbered Austrian gun
B = Bavarian unit in line facing the Austrians, and in position to charge either in flank all other things being equal.

We quickly determined that the Bavarian line could not charge the guns in the flank as they had a protected flank as per p. 62. This meant that the Bavarian unit would have to deliver a flank charge on the Austrian line. The question we had was what specific options were available to the Austrian unit to react to the Bavarian charge.

1. Austrian was under "Attack" orders and in good order, so could not flee.

2. Austrian unit was not facing the Bavarian unit so could not counter charge.

3. Austrian unit could stand and be hit in the flank.

4. Austrian unit could not change orientation to face the Bavarian unit as that would violate rules on interpenetration and passage of lines.

5. We concluded that the Austrian could take a maneuver test to change formation to square, which would at least take away the +4 flank bonus from the Bavarians as squares have no flanks.

Did we get this right?

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : jeu. 18 mars 2021 10:46
par RogerGreenwood
Looking at the 'reaction to charge' and 'reorientation' rules I would say you have this exactly correct.

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : jeu. 18 mars 2021 11:35
par viperofmilan
Thanks for getting back to me.

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : jeu. 18 mars 2021 17:11
par zeitoun
It seems good for me too.

remember that the Artillery can also try to change orientation.

regards.

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : ven. 19 mars 2021 12:52
par viperofmilan
I disagree. The artillery cannot reorient for the same reasons the infantry cannot do so.

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : ven. 19 mars 2021 19:51
par zeitoun
Hi Viperofmilan,

for you this situation is not possible ?

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : sam. 20 mars 2021 00:43
par RogerGreenwood
This assumes that it is the final position of the battery after reorientation that matters, not the space the corners pass through. I would prefer this to be the case but I can understand the counter argument.
Reorientation is definitely about the centre. The infantry would end up in the middle of the battery so that is clearly not possible. One for a FAQ sheet I think.

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : dim. 21 mars 2021 00:02
par viperofmilan
Exactly Roger. Well said.

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : dim. 21 mars 2021 10:01
par zeitoun
I understand your arguments.

For me only the front of the units is restrictive. P 16 the rules explain what must be the front of the unit , but never the depth

if the front pass, all the unit pass if at the end of the move no unit over helm another one.

But i agree, Herve need to confirm this.

Regards.

Re: Reaction to flank charge

Posté : dim. 21 mars 2021 12:51
par Viking709
43CB8E38-849E-4892-B4B8-82A458F95879.jpeg
43CB8E38-849E-4892-B4B8-82A458F95879.jpeg (47.99 Kio) Vu 8474 fois
I have a problem with this
So because the artillery is 30mm deep it can’t reorient but if I had mounted on 40mm it could
So we play that a unit can retreat 2UD and allow it to add to its movement so it can interpenetrate the supporting unit as long as it can reach it .
So here you can move up to an additional 1 UD to clear a friend but artillery to turn 90 degrees can’t because 5mm will interpenetrate the supporting infantry. The artillery can’t adjust 5mm to permit this....
If the unit takes the test and fails its screwed
If the unit takes the test and passes. It’s screwed