Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Ask a question about rules
Répondre
Viking709
Grenadier
Messages : 23
Enregistré le : ven. 11 oct. 2019 01:23

Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par Viking709 » sam. 23 mai 2020 02:37

Hi
Can an artillery unit prolong along with two infantry units that are within 2 UD and facing in the same direction as long as they make the same move and end up facing in the same direction?

Avatar du membre
zeitoun
Capitaine
Messages : 289
Enregistré le : sam. 19 janv. 2019 15:57

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par zeitoun » dim. 24 mai 2020 21:26

Hi,

for me it's possible.

however, you cannot count this two infantry to reach the 50% as they don't have done a full move..

Regards.
Olivier M

Avatar du membre
Talleyrand
Sous-lieutenant
Messages : 108
Enregistré le : dim. 6 janv. 2019 15:44

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par Talleyrand » lun. 25 mai 2020 06:31

zeitoun a écrit :
dim. 24 mai 2020 21:26
for me it's possible.

however, you cannot count this two infantry to reach the 50% as they don't have done a full move..
I agree for the fisr answer but...

As the move was done with the slowest unit, i think you can count the infantery for 50% compulsory (unless you can unlimber the artillery to go faster)
combattu souvent, battu parfois, abattu jamais

Avatar du membre
zeitoun
Capitaine
Messages : 289
Enregistré le : sam. 19 janv. 2019 15:57

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par zeitoun » lun. 25 mai 2020 08:23

hi Talleyrand

if you look at the french FAQ Hervé said :

Ordres et changements de formation – Page 30
On ne doit pas utiliser les changements de formation ou le mouvement de l’artillerie à la prolonge pour
artificiellement ralentir une division qui a un ordre ATTAQUER ou ENGAGER.
Ainsi, dans un groupe avec de l’infanterie et de l’artillerie avec un ordre ATTAQUER ou ENGAGER, l'infanterie doit
charger ou avancer vers l'ennemi de son plein mouvement ou jusqu’à portée de tir de salve (2 UD) et l'artillerie doit
s'avancer à portée effective pour tirer. Si les unités font un autre mouvement, elles ne respectent pas leur ordre

regards
Olivier M

gibbyj
Sergent Major
Messages : 73
Enregistré le : dim. 3 mars 2019 22:32

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par gibbyj » lun. 25 mai 2020 10:40

So, its a legal move as long as the overall division has repected the orders. For instance if 2 other units in the division made a full advance with engage orders and the artillery is now in effective range.
Jim

Avatar du membre
zeitoun
Capitaine
Messages : 289
Enregistré le : sam. 19 janv. 2019 15:57

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par zeitoun » lun. 25 mai 2020 10:48

gibbyj a écrit :
lun. 25 mai 2020 10:40
So, its a legal move as long as the overall division has repected the orders. For instance if 2 other units in the division made a full advance with engage orders and the artillery is now in effective range.
Jim

This units cannot be counted for a "full move", but if this 2 units can fire after this move you could count them to respect the compulsory 50%.

Regards.
Olivier M

gibbyj
Sergent Major
Messages : 73
Enregistré le : dim. 3 mars 2019 22:32

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par gibbyj » lun. 25 mai 2020 12:26

Presumably if the 2 units started 2 ud to the rear left and right sides of the artillery and moved a full move so that they were now 2ud to the front left and right of the artillery and in the same orientation, this would also respect the orders.
cheers
Jim

Viking709
Grenadier
Messages : 23
Enregistré le : ven. 11 oct. 2019 01:23

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par Viking709 » lun. 25 mai 2020 18:38

So this can be done for 1 pip

gibbyj
Sergent Major
Messages : 73
Enregistré le : dim. 3 mars 2019 22:32

Re: Can artillery prolong with two infantry unitd

Message par gibbyj » mar. 26 mai 2020 09:10

Yes

Répondre