Opportunity fire from artillery

Ask a question about rules
Répondre
Andrew Davies
Chasseur
Messages : 14
Enregistré le : mar. 18 juin 2019 12:25

Opportunity fire from artillery

Message par Andrew Davies » ven. 29 nov. 2019 08:43

Can I ask about the following scenario,

Austrian Infantry are advancing with attack orders toward French infantry with engage orders. The French infantry has a 6pdr battery next to it.

Can the artillery opportunity fire at short range (4UD) on the advancing Austrian infantry (assuming the artillery has no action marker) and resolve any morale test on the Austrians?

Or should the artillery wait for the Austrian infantry to finish it's advance and either return fire if fired upon or contribute to support fire if the Austrians fire on the French infantry.

Many thanks,

Andrew

Avatar du membre
hcaille
Général de Brigade
Messages : 642
Enregistré le : jeu. 3 janv. 2019 09:48

Re: Opportunity fire from artillery

Message par hcaille » ven. 29 nov. 2019 17:01

Opportunity fire is not frequent. If the artillery can fire during its turn ou in riposte, there is no need of opportunity fire.

Opportunity fire can be used in the following cases :
- The target move outside range or line of sight
- The division's firer as already been activated and fire is now possible on a new target.
- Ennemy charge and the unit support fire the defender

Andrew Davies
Chasseur
Messages : 14
Enregistré le : mar. 18 juin 2019 12:25

Re: Opportunity fire from artillery

Message par Andrew Davies » ven. 29 nov. 2019 17:50

Thank you again :D

SgtRolfSteiner
Chasseur
Messages : 10
Enregistré le : mer. 6 nov. 2019 11:35

Re: Opportunity fire from artillery

Message par SgtRolfSteiner » ven. 29 nov. 2019 23:14

Great to hear we have interpreted Op Fire correctly :-)

Hazelbark
Brigadier
Messages : 39
Enregistré le : mar. 19 mars 2019 21:01

Re: Opportunity fire from artillery

Message par Hazelbark » sam. 21 mars 2020 00:17

This is helpful.
Just to clarify.
#1
Austrian line advancing from 5 UD (not charging) to within 2 UD of French line and artillery.

The French must wait and the fire will be simultaneous.

I ask because in this situation the Artillery (and French skirmishers in support) could theoretically fire and inflict losses before the Austrians get to within firing range.

But that is not how it is played. If a unit is moving to a firing position then its movement is completed before the fire occurs and therefore simultaneous?

#2
Add to the above situation: If the Austrian line was moving out of the arc of fire of a different unit, would that unit fire before the Austrians get into range of the French? Would the line and artillery then fire in support?

Répondre