Actions of support unit that moved ?

Ask a question about rules
Répondre
SgtRolfSteiner
Chasseur
Messages : 10
Enregistré le : mer. 6 nov. 2019 11:35

Actions of support unit that moved ?

Message par SgtRolfSteiner » ven. 6 déc. 2019 13:22

Hi

A unit of Cav is charged (before its own activation phase) and it counter charges with a friendly unit of Cav moving up in Morale Support.
Combat is fought etc
Now it is the friendly Cav commands activation which comprises the 2 Cav units.
The countercharging unit has an action marker after fighting combat but the supporting unit does not as morale support only.
Must the supporting unit now charge another enemy (it is under an attack order) or move ?
Or has the attack order been fulfilled by counter charge of friend ?
If it can move does this count as a second move for action marker ?


Cheers

Viking709
Sous-lieutenant
Messages : 100
Enregistré le : ven. 11 oct. 2019 01:23
Localisation : Severna Park Maryland

Re: Actions of support unit that moved ?

Message par Viking709 » mar. 10 déc. 2019 14:15

We had a similar situation

Decided that the attack orders were fulfilled since they counter charged and had been engaged

Our problem was trying to figure out what the supporting unit could do
1 sit there
2 move but not attack
3 pass thru the disordered cavalry it supported which precludes it charging
4 wheel and charge an enemy battery that was in its 45 angle

Noss Calavera
Soldat
Messages : 9
Enregistré le : mar. 4 juin 2019 18:06

Re: Actions of support unit that moved ?

Message par Noss Calavera » mer. 11 déc. 2019 16:06

This is my interpretation based on the requirements of Attack order. If it is on Attack order and does not have an Action marker then at least half of the Good order units in the activated division/brigade must full move towards an enemy/objective or charge, or volley fire in effective range. So it would be situational. If you could satisfy the "at least half" with other units then it would not have to move/charge. If not, then it would.

Viking709
Sous-lieutenant
Messages : 100
Enregistré le : ven. 11 oct. 2019 01:23
Localisation : Severna Park Maryland

Re: Actions of support unit that moved ?

Message par Viking709 » mer. 11 déc. 2019 21:16

We decided that the supporting unit could wheel and charge the enemy battery as it did not have an action marker as it only supported the counter charge. As for attack orders- two cav units in the three unit cav division had counter charged and therefore were disordered with action markers. So they already met the requirements of at least half the division attacking. So for 1cp the support cav charged the battery
They only beat the battery by 1 which eliminated the battery and so only advanced 1UD. But in looking the rules over later read that cav destroying artillery pursue. So the cav could have pursued into an L2 French unit with three losses. Would have been Glorious
Walt

Avatar du membre
hcaille
Général de Brigade
Messages : 642
Enregistré le : jeu. 3 janv. 2019 09:48

Re: Actions of support unit that moved ?

Message par hcaille » jeu. 12 déc. 2019 09:36

When your units have been attacked by the ennemy during his activation, you can consider they have fullfill their order.

Units supporting a combat don't have an action marker so they are free to move and charge if you want.

When a cavalry combat, it is always disordered. So it is a good idea to do a cavalry withdrawal (cf page 62) to retreat the disordered cavaly behind its support unit. Then you will have a fresh unit in the front rank and the disordered one ready to rally next turn. ;)

Viking709
Sous-lieutenant
Messages : 100
Enregistré le : ven. 11 oct. 2019 01:23
Localisation : Severna Park Maryland

Re: Actions of support unit that moved ?

Message par Viking709 » jeu. 12 déc. 2019 13:48

Thank you

Répondre